Menu

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
December 06, 2021, 01:18:17 pm

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Noggit bugs  (Read 19670 times)

Steff

  • Administrator
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 4551
    • View Profile
Noggit bugs
« on: December 04, 2014, 09:45:03 am »
I work in the moment on Noggit SDL 1.4 and want to ask around to collect some bugs still or newly exist in 1.3.

Please no feature requests! This will be next after I sorted my lists :)

List of bugs:

- A second save delete or double models.
- Add,delete or move WMOs do not select all needed ADTs for saving.
- Chunk hole lines. During Ground editing there appear small height differences at teh adt and chunk borders.
- Big alpha support is missing.
- ADT Unloading is missing and lead to crash the app.
- mfbo cam bug fix.
- both mouse buttons start fly mode continuing.

Needs testing:

- paint textures with the pressure less then 50 create lines between texture chunks.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »
Please mark as solved if solved.
Don't ask if you could ask a question... JUST ask the Question.
You can send me also offline messages. I will answer if I get online.
Skype: project.modcraft
Discord: steff#6954

Steff

  • Administrator
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 4551
    • View Profile
Re: Noggit bugs
« Reply #1 on: December 05, 2014, 01:54:08 pm »
Not all at the same time please :)

+ Chunk hole lines.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »
Please mark as solved if solved.
Don't ask if you could ask a question... JUST ask the Question.
You can send me also offline messages. I will answer if I get online.
Skype: project.modcraft
Discord: steff#6954

axel0099

  • Contributors
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 577
    • View Profile
Re: Noggit bugs
« Reply #2 on: December 05, 2014, 04:15:39 pm »
i think those are the main problems atm.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

Skarn

  • Contributors
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 807
    • View Profile
    • http://skarn-project.net
Re: Noggit bugs
« Reply #3 on: December 05, 2014, 07:29:04 pm »
Well, that's really awesome that somebody is developing noggit. I (and I hope most of modcraft guys) really appreciate that.  
Okay, list of bugs except the mentioned ones that I've found so far.

* Noggit terraforming doesn't work properly. Sometimes it creates a king of "sharp" edges. I wish I could provide a pic now. I will do it later when I am on my PC.
* Sometimes WMOs disappear after saving.
* Some models disappear in the game. (I believe it has smth to do with model UIDs, like the duplication bug).
* Noggit crashes after it reaches a certain amount of memory. (Not a really serious problem).
* If you paint textures with the pressure less then 50, textures don't appear the right way in the game. There are a kind of big crosses on the chunk borders. (It can be fixed manually but it's still a bug.)
* Noggit doesn't render "big alpha" alphamaps on maps like Northrend.

I think these are all the bugs I remember.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

Steff

  • Administrator
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 4551
    • View Profile
Re: Noggit bugs
« Reply #4 on: December 07, 2014, 08:50:38 pm »
Thansk for your post :)

Quote
* Noggit terraforming doesn't work properly. Sometimes it creates a king of "sharp" edges. I wish I could provide a pic now. I will do it later when I am on my PC.

This was fixed in version 1.3. Noggit used internal not the exact same vertics data then wow. Hanfer changed this so the spikes should no longer show up.

Quote
* Sometimes WMOs disappear after saving.

Is already in the list.


Quote
* Some models disappear in the game. (I believe it has smth to do with model UIDs, like the duplication bug).

Yes UID and related to the UID bug in list.


Quote
* Noggit crashes after it reaches a certain amount of memory. (Not a really serious problem).

Good point add to list. ADT Unloading. And bug and feature :)


Quote
* If you paint textures with the pressure less then 50, textures don't appear the right way in the game. There are a kind of big crosses on the chunk borders. (It can be fixed manually but it's still a bug.)

Ok new to me that the preassure has to wo with this. I will make some tests.


Quote
* Noggit doesn't render "big alpha" alphamaps on maps like Northrend.

Yes No big Alpha support till now. Add this,
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »
Please mark as solved if solved.
Don't ask if you could ask a question... JUST ask the Question.
You can send me also offline messages. I will answer if I get online.
Skype: project.modcraft
Discord: steff#6954

Supora

  • Registred Member
  • Wiki Incarnate
  • *****
  • Posts: 143
    • View Profile
Re: Noggit bugs
« Reply #5 on: December 08, 2014, 05:23:44 pm »
Don't know how for others but for me I need to hold SHIFT + CTLR + Alt + mouse1 for cleaning the textures. Not just Shift + Ctrl + mouse1 as mantioned in keybindings. In case of holding only ctrl + shift and mouse it show the texture used on this chunk just as the ctrl + mouse. And not kind of bug but more as a feature I really miss the function for changing texture for chunk not only for whole adt.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

Skarn

  • Contributors
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 807
    • View Profile
    • http://skarn-project.net
Re: Noggit bugs
« Reply #6 on: December 09, 2014, 07:23:50 pm »
There is already a function to change one texture on one chunk. Just select the texture, open swapper model and paint these chunks with right mouse button. It will swap the selected texture chunk by chunk.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

Steff

  • Administrator
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 4551
    • View Profile
Re: Noggit bugs
« Reply #7 on: December 10, 2014, 05:51:50 am »
Swapping textures by chunk was in since swapper was added.

The key thing was a change in sdl 1.3 becaus you normaly should not delete textures.  I dont use this feature anymore and it often happend that i delete them not wanted during texturing work.  So i added an extra key to the shortcut.  It is a feature not a bug :)

Swapper release video.



 http://m.youtube.com/results?q=Noggit%2 ... apper&sm=3
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »
Please mark as solved if solved.
Don't ask if you could ask a question... JUST ask the Question.
You can send me also offline messages. I will answer if I get online.
Skype: project.modcraft
Discord: steff#6954

Supora

  • Registred Member
  • Wiki Incarnate
  • *****
  • Posts: 143
    • View Profile
Re: Noggit bugs
« Reply #8 on: December 10, 2014, 08:00:59 am »
yeah, thnx for the tip
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

Amaroth

  • Contributors
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 1219
    • View Profile
    • Amaroth's Tools
Re: Noggit bugs
« Reply #9 on: December 20, 2014, 10:12:11 pm »

So, I come here with saving bug. My island is marked with green here, it is made of 9 ADTs. I grew a bit lazy and stopped marking all of them before saving, and I started to just mark these 4 on screen as edited. After marking these 4 ones I just did what I needed (so in the end nearly never were all 9 ADTs marked as white, some of them just sometimes were only "gray"). But I had ALWAYS ALL 25 ADTs white or gray. Still, objects on red marked boarder were duplicated massively, on boarder where southern ADT was always gray marked (sometimes even white) and northern sometimes gray, but quite often white. You might say it is absolutely no difference between edited and surrounding ADT saving. Well, 512 ships at one place say something else.
« Last Edit: December 23, 2014, 02:13:19 pm by Admin »
English YT tutorial channel. Check it out if you preffer videos over walls of text.:
https://www.youtube.com/AmarothEng

Want to support me for my releases and/or tutorials? You can send donation via Paypal to:
jantoms@seznam.cz

mathias234

  • Registred Member
  • LUA Script Tinker
  • *****
  • Posts: 40
    • View Profile
Re: Noggit bugs
« Reply #10 on: December 20, 2014, 10:38:33 pm »
I also get the "below 50% pressure bug", i am not sure if its at 50% it happens or what but i get it from time to time

also a future i would love to see in noggit is that i can drag windows outside of noggit like you see in Photoshop, blender etc
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

Steff

  • Administrator
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 4551
    • View Profile
Re: Noggit bugs
« Reply #11 on: December 22, 2014, 07:38:13 am »
And you always close noggit after save? And reopen it.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »
Please mark as solved if solved.
Don't ask if you could ask a question... JUST ask the Question.
You can send me also offline messages. I will answer if I get online.
Skype: project.modcraft
Discord: steff#6954

mathias234

  • Registred Member
  • LUA Script Tinker
  • *****
  • Posts: 40
    • View Profile
Re: Noggit bugs
« Reply #12 on: December 22, 2014, 05:00:03 pm »
Quote from: "Steff"
And you always close noggit after save? And reopen it.
i dont save then close then reopen no i save then continue working
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »

Amaroth

  • Contributors
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 1219
    • View Profile
    • Amaroth's Tools
Re: Noggit bugs
« Reply #13 on: December 22, 2014, 08:15:09 pm »
Quote from: "Steff"
And you always close noggit after save? And reopen it.
Ofc I do Steff, I wasn't doing so, I would really recognize it :D. The only duplicated objects around were only on that boarder. None were lost. And I never saved my work twice, those 2 ADTs were always saved together in 1 save and yes, I always restart Noggit after saving. I am really careful with such things, mostly because I am one of those guys who really read everything new in Noggit section.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »
English YT tutorial channel. Check it out if you preffer videos over walls of text.:
https://www.youtube.com/AmarothEng

Want to support me for my releases and/or tutorials? You can send donation via Paypal to:
jantoms@seznam.cz

Amaroth

  • Contributors
  • Creator of Worlds
  • *****
  • Posts: 1219
    • View Profile
    • Amaroth's Tools
Re: Noggit bugs
« Reply #14 on: December 23, 2014, 02:09:16 pm »
Another one, not very important but sometimes quite annoying, selecting/copying objects quite often marks ADTs as edited and sometimes you just don't want to save half of a continent because of this. Can by really annoying when put together with need of saving all ADTs containing 1 object at once.

Well, tbh, I would just create some ADT cleaner which simply erases all objects saved twice. I think it would be more simple than some another crazy remaking of saving system.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 am by Admin »
English YT tutorial channel. Check it out if you preffer videos over walls of text.:
https://www.youtube.com/AmarothEng

Want to support me for my releases and/or tutorials? You can send donation via Paypal to:
jantoms@seznam.cz